5 More Days!

I can’t believe how quickly it’s coming up, but that is how many days until I leave for beautiful Alabama for Field Training! I’ve been nervous out of my mind! So much that I haven’t been able to sleep too well. I’ve had some pretty intense nightmares lately, but I’m probably just psyching myself out. Field Training is basically, well, a truncated form of basic training for Air Force ROTC cadets. It’s one of the big milestones that a cadet overcomes before becoming commissioned as soon as he/she graduates. One milestone that I never thought that I would reach, with it being fairly competitive as there are only a number of slots that each University can offer.

But I got that chance, the opportunity to do something big and just thinking about the impacts that it will have further down the road…it’s truly awesome what I’ll have the chance to be a part of! It’ll be awesome. But what really gets me is that I really don’t know what to expect. That’s the worst, not knowing what to expect. I’m ready…but I don’t know. I’ve never felt this nervous for anything before. I haven’t been able to sleep too well the last few days, as my nights have been riddled with so many different nightmares. Nightmares that all share one thing in common. About failing. Oh well, I can’t let that bring me down. I’ve already come too far. And everything turns out alright in the end. Now I just have to listen to my own advice eh?

But on the other hand, summer’s been great. The days just seem to drag by…which is exactly how I like it! I don’t want school to come around any faster than it needs to! Haha, I haven’t had anything school related to procrastinate on, hence why I’m not on here too often…although I just can’t imagine how many awesome crazy stories that I’ve been missing :( Oh well, I’ll definitely be back. Oh, one thing! What are some good songs to calm the nerves? Something to fall asleep to would work wonders :)

Anyways wish me luck! As I realize now that I’ll be down there in Alabama for both my birthday (my 21st of all of them! :O) and 4th of July!! Errgh. But what better way to spend the 4th with all my buddies down in Alabama on an AF base though haha. The first thing I’m going to do when I get back is buy the entire 6-7 seaons of The Office. I just love that show!! Alright well, I should really get to back as I’m sensing the incoherence of what I’m trying to say. So good night to you all! Or possibly morning…er evening. Sleep…why do you elude me?

 

20 Comments to “5 More Days!”

  1. Have you tried Al Di Meola’s The Grande Passion? Beautiful album.

  2. I tend to fall asleep somewhere midway through the Wicked soundtrack :D
    Ah, but don’t worry too much!! I know that is much easier said than done but I’m pretty sure you will do great. It’s not like you’re completely unprepared, just that you don’t know what to expect. But then again, has knowing what it will be like ever helped? I’m not so sure cause then your head also goes into hyperdrive (or at least mine does) and it makes me crazy on a new level.
    I wish you luck for your training and everything!!

    • Wicked soundtrack, I’ll definitely have to take a look at that one :) Haha, and you’re absolutely right…if I would have know everything that would’ve happened while I was down there…I don’t think I would have made it. Sometimes just being thrown into a situation and using instincts/wits/muscle memory is probably much better than planning something in your head and going through the details so much that the possibility of messing up is greater. But yea, thanks a ton! I hope your summer is going by great! There’s just too much to catch up on :/

  3. I too lose sleep when I am anxious/stressed (I think I averaged maybe 4hrs/night the entire month of May!) so I completely understand. It’s a combination of anticipation and the unknown – killer, but it just goes to show that this is something you really are looking forward to! Sometimes waiting really is the hardest part. :/

    Good luck and have a ton of fun! Looking forward to hearing more about this upcoming adventure.

    • Oh god, there are just too many stories! Yea, waiting to get on that airplane was definitely the hardest thing. Just trying to figure out what was going to happen after getting on that bus down to Maxwell nearly gave me a heart attack the entire drive down. But once I got there and realized that I wasn’t the only one going through this got me focused on what I had to do. After that, it just flew by! But yea, thanks a bunch though. It was fun…only at times though haha.

  4. When you don’t know what to expect just wait and see, don’t stress! I can’t give any other advice. Do your best, and enjoy every good thing that happens to you. :) Nightmares might show things from their worst side, but they are not real. Don’t fear failure cause we all fail sometimes. It’s not about the failure, it’s about standing up after falling and always keeping the bigger goals in mind.

    Celebrating the Independence day in AF base sure is something very special, doesn’t happen every year, enjoy it! ;)

    Some songs to fall asleep to (the tracklist of my “falling asleep cd”, works for me almost every time;)):

    Mystica – Bliss (Mystica Mix)
    Jamie Myerson – Rescue Me
    Taste Experience – Summersault
    Fathers of Sound – Water (F.O.S. Main Vocal Mix)
    Solar Stone – Day by Day (red jerry remix)
    Life on Mars – Life In Mind (L.I.M. Vocal Mix)
    The Touch – Remixes (Paul’s Remix Feat. Chelsea)
    E Razor – Mantra
    Lustral – Everytime (Nalin & Kane Mix)
    Miro – Paradise
    Greece 2000 – 3 Drives on Vinyl

    • Thanks truly for that advice. I’m starting a little notebook and writing down leadership qualities and traits that I find admirable. I’m definitely going to throw your advice in there as well.

      Haha, and Independence Day was great. Our fireworks were replaced by cannons, so you could imagine the excitement :P

      Aw man, and thanks for the tracks. I’ve been looking for some new tracks and this will definitely keep me busy for a bit. I hope that everything is going well for you. Hopefully your summer has been more relaxed than mine! Haha.

  5. Good luck to you Simon dear!!! My prayers are with you, love. Hugs XOXO

  6. So proud of you, as always! We haven’t talked in ages! Good luck and I am hoping the best for you! :) GO GO! :)

    • Aw well thank you :) You’re just always too busy :P You have to let me know how being an adult is. I’m trying to get my practice in but dang, it’s hard.

      Haha! Hope your summer is going by absolutely fantastic-ly :)

  7. Good luck!!! summer is always a blast…its good to see others having fun

  8. Good luck again! I was just rereading this and I came to the part were you mentioned how you weren’t on here too much now that school procrastination is over with. I just realized how true this is and cannot agree with you more! It’s so hard to write when you don’t have a crazy amount of stuff to do (and in my case the weather is so nice and not rigid :D ).

    • Yea, it’s definitely a bit harder now that I don’t have anything to procrastinate from! And usually my best/weirdest thoughts come when I’m trying to get something important done…And the weather, it’s just too great. You’re absolutely right. I’ve definitely got to fix this horrendous farmer’s tan that I’ve developed.

      Thanks a ton though. Enjoy that summer! ~The writing can come when school starts hehe~

  9. Super belated good luck/happy birthday/Happy 4th!! Keep your head up (literally. Don’t look down; you might get car–er fighter plane–sick. How embarrassing!)

    • Haha, well thank you! I can’t believe how quickly it went by :O There were definitely times where it was hard to keep my head up. But hey a good sense of humor will get you far. Just one of the many things that I learned haha!

What do you think?

