Pencil and Eraser

I found this story a little bit back and it was definitely a shot to the chest. I’ve never really thought of it this way.

Pencil: I’m sorry

Eraser: For what? You didn’t do anything wrong.

Pencil: I’m sorry because you get hurt because of me. Whenever I made a mistake, you’re always there to erase it. But as you make my mistakes vanish, you lose a part of yourself. You get smaller and smaller each time.

Eraser: That’s true. But I don’t really mind. You see, I was made to do this. I was made to help you whenever you do something wrong. Even though one day, I know I’ll be gone and you’ll replace me with a new one, I’m actually happy with my job. So please, stop worrying. I hate seeing you sad.

I found this conversation between the pencil and the eraser very inspirational. Parents are like the eraser whereas their children are the pencil. They’re always there for their children, cleaning up their mistakes. Sometimes along the way, they get hurt, and become smaller / older, and eventually pass on. Though their children will eventually find someone new (spouse), but parents are still happy with what they do for their children, and will always hate seeing their precious ones worrying, or sad. All my life, I’ve been the pencil. And it pains me to see the eraser that is my parents getting smaller and smaller each day. For I know that one day, all that I’m left with would be eraser shavings and memories of what I used to have.

22 Comments to “Pencil and Eraser”

  1. Beautifully said! I wish people would pay more attention to the treasures in front of them rather than be tempted by supposedly amazing things others have.

  2. It gets very awkward though, when those roles shift and the child becomes the eraser. At least that’s how I feel lately, I’m taking over the mom role and that is so strange. It feels like upsetting the natural order of things.

  3. That’s it. I’m never having kids!

    Just joking, of course. Beautiful analogy. All the more reasons to love my mom and dad :)

    • Haha, definitely :P Yea for sure, sometimes it seems like your parents just never get off your case lol. But when it gets quiet…sometimes you just miss it. Even if it’s just a little haha.

  4. Crap, now I have to figure out which I am.
    I wish I was an eraser, but I feel more like a pencil that is sharp on both ends.

  5. I think I’ve heard that story or a similar one before. I like it though. It’s clever and meaningful. But don’t stress yourself. Every person in you life is there for a reason and there is a master plan far more intricate than we could ever know. Just treat your loved ones with care for as long as you can and treat your enemies and randoms with fairness.

    • Yea, I really liked it a lot too. It’s definitely a different take on viewing my parents haha. And that is so true. One of the reasons why I try not to worry about the little things. Everything is already planned out and worrying about it would be a waste of time. As for people in my life, I believe that as well. Every single person I have met has brought something into my life. Which is awesome. I never thought I would learn so much from so many different people. So thanks for that!

  6. Your love for your family is astounding, really.

    • Haha, thanks :) I think it stems from moving here when I was little. My parents were all I had. Having little to no friends as a younger kid (since we moved around so much) really makes me appreciate the people in my life. So family to me is more than just a word :)

  7. :) Very inspirational, indeed. The lessons here could be applied to many areas of our lives. At times, we’ll find ourselves changing roles between the eraser and the pencil. It’s all about fulfilling our purpose in this life. We have to do more than just exist. We all have a purpose to accomplish.This includes ministering to the needs of others and having our needs ministered to as well (though not necessarily by the ones we minister to). You have been a great inspiration here on WordPress. I wish you long life and happiness. And when the dark days arrive, just remember this well, “In the darkest hour of the night, some other souls are facing light. We just need to wait our turn :) ~ Ayasonice

    • Oh my gosh, true words of wisdom. You are just piling it on today! :P Your kind words have put me in such a great mood, I just punched my roommate in the face. And I don’t feel bad about it!
      LOL Just kidding!!! But no, you’re right though. We all have a grand purpose in our life. But sometimes finding that purpose is the hardest. I probably said this before, but we’re all living this life together. So why not try to help each other out from time to time? Haha oh well. You have been a big inspiration to me as well! And I wish you the same. That quote is pretty awesome by the way.

  8. That’s so inspirational and sweet! Love it!

  9. Having read this I thought it was extremely informative. I
    appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this content together.

    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

    • Haha, well thank you! I appreciate you reading through it :)

      As do I, there are just too many good posts on here. I find myself at times just reading through so much, that I seem to lose track of where time goes…

  10. This piece of writing gives clear idea for the new visitors of blogging, that actually how to do running
    a blog.

What do you think?

