A letter to myself.

If you were to die right now, how would you feel? Would you feel that everything you’ve done up until this point has been your best? Would you have regrets, that maybe with a second chance things could have gone any better? I ask this because I realize that we all take life for granted. We’re here for one day, but who knows? We might not tomorrow. Everybody seems to live like they will live forever. But life is so fragile. You never know when you will be called to leave this earth. So why not live everyday like it would be your last? Not recklessly and in a stupid manner, but being 100% of who you are? You never know who will fall in love with that side that you are desperately trying to hide.

It’s such a blessing to be able to wake up every morning and to get up on my own two legs. To open my window and appreciate the warmth of the sun on my face. Today felt so unreal. My room was silent. I sat there at my desk and just took a minute to look around. Everything was calm, quiet. The only sound coming from the chirping of the birds outside. The air was still and the only light was from the sun, whose angled columns of light illuminated the dusty shelves and the posters on my wall. I may have only been here for one year, but there are so many memories here. The year is winding down, the campus getting quiet as people prepare for final exams. I feel as if I’ve been in this same position many times before. And I’ve hated this feeling. Of change. Of people getting ready to move onto the next stages of their lives.

What is the purpose of this life? What makes it worth living? I know I said that we should live 100% but why should I continue being kind when all I get in return are only scoffs and cold-shoulders? I hate seeing people sad. And when I do, I do my best to help them up, give them a smile. But when I’m down, who’s there to help me? Maybe I should just be happy when I see others happy. Is it bad that every person I meet, I give them a piece of my heart? Maybe bad for me, since every time they leave out of my life that’s another piece gone, torn away from my chest. I hate that feeling, but maybe if I’ve been enough of an impact somehow, that’s fine with me. So when you read this down the road, just remember: “It is better to have tried and failed than to have never tried at all.”

-Simon

6 Comments to “A letter to myself.”

  1. (Comment is very unrelated to post)

    So…have you revealed it at last? Is your name Simon?! :D

  2. Sweet young friend of mine, you are so brillante!
    How did you get so wise? I know I seem to always ask you this but you continue to blow me away.

    Kindness to others is really a kindness to yourself. Can you imagine the souls of those who grumble around and never seem to find a smile worthy thing in their path?

    I promise you that it will come back to you 10 fold when you are least looking for it. That is one of the keys, don’t be looking for the kindness, don’t e waiting. I promise if its not happened yet that someone was kind it soon will.

  3. That was awesomely philosophical.

  4. :) That’s the spirit! A letter to yourself, wow! This gets better and better! I like the way you give yourself positive advice and I’m glad I’m a follower so I can benefit too :) I eagerly await your next post! I hope you are well and the studies are going fine.

What do you think?

