Shuffle

Alright, so I had my iTunes on shuffle (trying to get some homework groove on) and then this song came up:

Now, this was a bit of surprise since I’ve just been listening to some thuggin jamz lately haha. I almost forgot that I had this song. Anyways, the point is, this is one of the most beautiful pieces of music that I have ever heard. It really means a lot to me especially because this was the song I was listening to in the waiting room at the hospital as my mom underwent a brutal 8 hour surgery. I listened to this song over and over, persuading myself that everything would be okay.

When I heard this song today, my heart stopped for a bit. Because just in the craziness of everyday life, it’s so easy to forget the things that matter to you the most. I feel like that day, waiting for the surgery to be over, was yesterday. But it’s already been six years. (It’ll be six, this June on my birthday).

Time flies man. That’s all I can say. We’ve all got shit in our lives. That’s a given. It’s one of the most constant factors in our lives. You get over one hurdle only to see two more in its place. A real life Hydra. But it’s how we deal with those problems that makes you into the person that you are. Never give up, life’s a fight. And you’re here well and breathing. Might as well make the best of it. Make someones day, make them smile. Your day might seem like nothing is going right, but you never know. Everybody smiles, but you never know what is behind those smiles. Years of torment, pain, anguish. I’ve seen it, don’t ever want to see it in another person again. Life’s too short.

Anyways, those are just my thoughts for the evening. I just need school to be over already :(((

One thing missing though; we're not in this alone.

15 Comments to “Shuffle”

  1. “You get over one hurdle only to see two more in its place. A real life Hydra. But it’s how we deal with those problems that makes you into the person that you are. Never give up, life’s a fight.”

    Honest, true, and awesome.

    • The most successful people that have influenced my life are the ones that never gave up. Even though their situation may have seemed impossible, inescapable, unattainable. But despite the odds they kept going. Because they knew there was a silver lining to everything.

      Thanks :) I try to put things as I see it ya know?!

  2. I love this song, too, it’s beautiful! What did your mom need surgery for, if I might ask?

    Today on my way home from the university an ambulance and an emergency doctor’s car passed me with sirens on and I was so reminded of that saturday about a month ago when they were rushing to get to our house. Sometimes life just feels like a box of chocolate where every good piece has already been eaten and you’re stuck with the trash nobody wants.
    The Canon just ended and so should this comment!

    • Right? It means a lot to me, as weird as that sounds.

      But yea, no worries. My mom had surgery to remove a brain tumor. By the time they found it, it was classified in the large category. It was definitely a shock, since we should have found it much sooner. But we were lucky in that it still wasn’t too late. She came out of the surgery 100%. No sign of stroke (which there was a high possibility of). You would never know. She is always tired though which is the most significant side effect. That’s why it worries me to see her strain herself to help me as much as she does.

      But because of this, I know that there is someone watching over me and my mom. Even though there may be days when I do feel like that nothing can go right, just knowing that tomorrow is another day keeps me going. And having the support of my parents with everything I do helps a ton.

      • Wow, I’m so sorry to hear that, as my mom herself is suffering from a brain tumor that grew back after its initial removal.
        Sometimes I also feel that there must be someone looking over me because even though all this shit is happening right now, there are still good things happening, maybe not as much as I would wish for but I know that even more could go wrong.
        I wish you and your family all the best. Take care :-)

      • Oh no. I totally understand what you mean. Hopefully your mom gets through everything ok. And thanks. We’re doing great. Like I said, it’s already going to be six years (and time sure does fly) and things are only looking up now.

        I know there has to be someone greater watching over us. Like you said, things could always be worse. But things always seem to work out in the end. Every time.

        Thanks a bunch, I wish yours the same as well :)

      • Thanks, she is fighting the cancer but it’ll probably only be a matter of time but we will see.

  3. Odd, just earlier today I saw someone posted the same quote-pic in Facebook in a group I follow closely (it feels like something I belong to, even when it’s dark, and I got a new friend from there!). Yesterday was a long day and today I feel like been beaten by the teacher. Her words. But got myself to blame, so better just shut up. ;) Gotta keep walking!!

    • Oh nice! That’s cool haha. Yea, I’ve seen this picture around too. It didn’t really click at first, but the more I read it…the more it made sense. Made a lot of sense. Right, some days are worse than others but like I said, tomorrow’s another day right?

  4. The music is very soothing. I could listen all night. You are right. We’re never alone. I’m happy your mom is doing well now. Keep your hopes alive and certainly you’ll keep going forward!

    • You’re right! Last I heard, this world contains 7 billion people. Not one. There’s always someone out that that has gone or is going through a similar situation. And thanks, I’m happy as well. It’s always good to see her smile. Haha, it’s the best when I can get her to laugh. And the same to you as well! :)

  5. If you can enjoy majestically beautiful music like this and then your spirit is alive and well and that is what matters! Thanks for sharing!

What do you think?

