The Silver Lining

Fortunately, that above was not my fate. Being caught up in all of this studying has really strained my mind…But it has also shown me how beautiful life can be. I was just focusing on myself, being selfish as one can be when your grades depend on it. But I managed to take a step back from all of this busy work for a minute earlier today and just take a look at the world around me. It is filled with so much to appreciate. So much beauty, so many stories. Every person you walk by, has a story. That is something that my parents taught me when I was little. That smile that you see on a persons face can possibly be covering up years of emotional scars. The person always sitting by him/herself in class could be the victim of physical if not emotional anguish. And in these days we are just so focused on ourselves.Coming up with a gameplan of how we’re going to be on top, be the best man/woman and what not.

I was rummaging through my stuff, and happened upon an envelope that I had received when I was in the second grade. Our teacher had thought it would be a great idea to form pen-pals and write to them every month. My pen-pal was from Africa and I remember writing to him every month. Asking him things like “Hey friend! :D How is school over there? Do you celebrate Christmas too?” and getting responses like “Hey! School is fun :DD But what is Christmas?” These exchanges went on and at that point my 7 year old self never really understood the importance of being a friend. At the end of the year, my pen-pal and his whole class sent us a picture of themselves and wanted to wish me a happy summer. It was really moving that someone halfway across the world would take just a few seconds to gather up and smile for a picture that was to be sent to someone they barely knew. That’s when I began to realize how big this world really is.

We seem to take things for granted. I know I do. And it’s hard to remember that there are people in worse situations than we are in. I have to constantly remind myself that I may think I have it hard, but there are others out there fighting so that we can have this life in relative safety. Their sacrifices are just so moving to me, that someone would willingly risk their own life so that many ungrateful people can continue living the comfortable lives that they do. It’s one of the reasons why I’m in AFROTC (other than wanting to be like my dad, who just retired from the Army as a Sergeant First Class). One of the most valuable lessons that I’ve learned is that the Golden Rule (that One should treat others as one would like others to treat oneself) really does work. I’ve been blessed to have made many friends, who at first glance would’ve been considered cold hearted. But people change, and they become what you hope for them to be, when you treat them as you want to see them. And it’s so amazing to see that transformation.

Anyways, there is so much that this life has to offer. You just have to find the right things to pursue, the thing that warms your heart. Whatever fuels your passion. Because the minute you start to feel down about yourself, you could have missed a fantastic opportunity to discover another reason that makes living this life a blessing, a miracle really.

Oscar 'Blade Runner' Pistorius with Ellie Challis

So when you feel that things are going tough…just remember that there are others going through or have gone through what you’re experiencing. Look up to their example and Never. Give. Up.

10 Responses to “The Silver Lining”

  1. Both pictures have touched my heart, and so did your writing. Like you, I’d like, for once, slow by someplace in the blaze of sunlight, pausing to admire everything around me. Such an inspiring post. :D

    • Thank you so much! It’s such an amazing feeling just to step back every once in a while and feel that warm breeze flow through you, knowing that there is so much more to this world than our current worries. Anyways, thanks for stopping by…and I will see you around :P

  2. If we were more optimistic, we would see how the beautiful the world is…even with his hard times. :D We are young and we have the energy and the desire to do everything that we want…I think my mood depends on the weather. When it’s a shiny sun on the sky, everything seems to be great. Nothing can depress me. :D

    PS: I have nominated you. :D http://bestylishanytime.wordpress.com/2011/12/12/versatile-blogger-award/

  3. Down to earth.That is you and why you are awesome. Thanks for following my blog too!

  4. Hey bud, just wanted to comment and compliment you on your blog. I know the pains of studying myself but your right it’s never really that bad. Good luck with the studies and the blog!

  5. I was checking out blogs looking for inspiration and stumbled on yours. This is a wonderful post.

  6. Wise words, my friend. I read a quote somewhere and it went something like this “Opportunities are never lost, the next guy just takes the ones you miss.”
    I probably butchered it, but it was something to that effect.

Trackbacks

What do you think?

