Dead Quiet

So this seems to happen to me every single year. The prospects of such a great break and all of the things that I can get accomplished is just swirling through my mind at the moment. There is just so many things that I want to be able to do this break and that is the only thing on my mind at the moment. Finally getting a chance to sleep, maybe even eat some food (thank god, since I was starting to run out of crumbs on my carpet anyway <—jk that’s gross). The possibilities are endless.

However, there is just one more obstacle in the way. It is commonly known to many as a stocky, myopic man who utilizes four powerful, mechanical appendages, and is obsessed with proving his own genius and destroying Spider-man. AKA, my finals. I’m sure many can attest…but motivation at this point is like the box of thin mints that you bought for yourself and you told your room mates that they could help themselves to it, only to find that 2 hours later nothing is left. Not even the box…or your wallet for that matter.

It doesn’t even feel like Christmas is around the corner. I could’ve swore that when I was a kid that all of the grown-ups really looked forward to the holidays. Houses on our block would be covered in the usual festive lights. There would actually be Christmas carolers and hot chocolate and the slowly growing pile of presents under our tree. I don’t know, but it seems really different these days. Christmas seems more of a marketing ploy than the remembrance of what happened on this day in history…I feel that people have really forgotten the meaning of Christmas and of the holidays in general. It seems that Thanksgiving is just a ploy to fill your stomachs to the maximum capacity, followed by Black Friday (where it’s starting to become the norm that people are being trampled to death in the quest to save a few bucks…) which then leads to Christmas.

Courtesy of TheOatmeal

Oh wait…whoa whoa. I’m glad you caught me deviating from studying. Better get back to it then, eh? Plus I dont even know where I was going with this one. Sigh…

6 Comments to “Dead Quiet”

  1. hihi…I eat like a crazy on holidays too. :)) I think everybody does that. We feel that is the only day that you feel you can have everything and thinking about all the chocolate and sweets that your parents give you, it’s no way you could resist the temptation to say “that’s enough”.:)) If you think about how well the house smells on holidays, when your mother (I hope your mother does that) cooks a lot of cookies and tasty food, you would remember why everybody eats so much :D. Unfortunately, Thursday I will fly to Italy and celebrate holidays there…I said unfortunately because they don’t celebrate Christmas like people of my country (with lots of lights hanging at the window and songs..etc). I don’t feel that they celebrate Christmas there. Oh well, at least there is a wormer weather than in Romania. :))

  2. That is true, my house smells absolutely amazing during the holidays. My mom is always so busy making the turkey and all of the sides for Thanksgiving as well as Christmas. Bless her soul :D The holidays seem to be those times where people can take comfort away from the world and just be with the people they love.
    But Italy huh? That should be so cool! Are you just going there for fun? That’s terrible that they don’t celebrate Christmas…but yes at least it will be warm. Have fun, be safe, and good luck on those last projects!! ;D

    • I have somebody in Italy and that’s why I am going there in a few days. I went there 5-6 times this year..I’m bored of Italy :)). I hope I will go there for fun too ;)). Thank you very much your words and you should try to study (I know it’s boting but it’s necessary :D )…let the blog “breathe” for a while…:D

      • That is so cool! But wow, 5-6 times huh? That’s a lot, haha. Might as well live there if you visit that often :P But you know how many times I’ve been there? 0. You never know, you might find something interesting/different there this time…it’s Italy! But yes, I got some sleep, focus is back and I will take your advice and spend some away from this blog for a bit haha!

      • Wow…it’s just 12:30 a.m. in your country? In Romania is 9:33 p.m. :)) you’ve just woke up. I couldn’t go and live there because I’m at college here…and I am not that into Italy.

        PS: don’t enter on the blog to see what I wrote. Go study. ;))

  3. Oh, I see. I guess going there that many times will take the fun out of it after a while huh. I’m sure you will still have a lot of fun. It’ll be great!

    (Ok, I won’t look at what you wrote…I’ll just take a look tomorrow ;P )

What do you think?

