Break

This is it then. One more week until the start of Thanksgiving Break. I can’t wait to go home. As I sit here trying to come up with something to write about, the only thing that comes to mind is sitting at home eating never ending mounds of mashed potatoes, stuffing, and of course…turkey. I mean, don’t get me wrong. I love it up here, going to school and being with friends. I don’t like the ‘being hungry as a homeless man’ part of being a college student but oh well, I’m still alive right? However, one thing that does weird me out at times are my roommates. I guess one lesson that I’ve learned so far is that if you want to learn more about somebody…try living with them.

So if you’re thinking ‘aw, well they can’t be that bad’…well think again. Alright for example, November for most people gets pretty cold right? And I know that most people lower the heat in the house as to save energy, I know because my parents do it too. But I didn’t think it meant that the temperature in our house had to equal that of the inside of the freezer. I mean it would probably be warmer if you just opened up all of the windows in the house, while is was blizzarding outside. Yea, don’t forget the front door too. I mean, luckily my parents gave me a little space heater earlier in the year and it has been my best friend since. I heard body heat works exceptionally well too, but I haven’t found anyone else to share it with ;)

Oh god that last line was lame…

Ok, ok, so maybe having low temperatures in your house isn’t too far off. But what about this one. So when you enter our front door, you enter a mid level platform thing. Basically from here you can either go upstairs or downstairs. Now looking upstairs from the front door will take your gaze right to the kitchen. And every morning after my first class I go home for a bit since I don’t have class until later. And every morning I am met with the creepiest gaze from my creepiest roommate. R as he shall be known. R will just stand there in the kitchen, usually with mug in hand (usually filled with yogurt) arms crossed and will always be staring at me as I untie my shoes…I feel so awkward everytime.

Oh, here’s another one. So last night (11/11/11) I was minding my own business in my room…well actually I just got up from a nap since I was exhausted throughout the day. Plus I thought I had lost my wallet…but long story short I took a nap to try and take some stress off of myself. Anyways, I went to the bathroom which is just right next to my room. Now even as I was sleeping I heard some odd noises, but I just played it off as the wind outside. But in the bathroom it was much clearer. From the sound of it, it was just my other roommate cursing at his physics homework. I mean its all good, we all get mad at homework, especially physics. But just from what I heard, I felt as if an old man…or a witch or something with a high nasally voice was in our house. It was so weird…I almost wanted to go check in his room to see if he was alright, but I decided against it. This was the same roommate that I came home one day and walked in on in the bathroom because the lights were off and the door was halfway open. Awkward…I can’t even look him straight in the face anymore without nearly laughing to death on the inside. I mean come on, close the door! I really didn’t need to see the excruciating pain on his face as he was trying to release a megabomb #2.

Oh my gosh, these are just some of the things that I have to deal with on a day to day basis…and will be something that I will not be missing as I head home to my family, food, and a nice warm bed even if it may be just for a week. So I say to you, keep up that final push towards break. Because I know I will…it just can’t get here soon enough for me.

Cheers!

14 Responses to “Break”

  1. You are funny as usual. I know how BAD can be to have roommates. I just can say that I stayed with 4 other girls in a huge room. I couldn’t even eat or go to school without disturbing one of them who was sleeping (it always was somebody sleeping in that room). I had the problem with the heat too, but was a little bit different. They didn’t stop the heat, they opened the window because it was too hot (we were staying in short pants…how hot can be in that room???!!!). My roommates were sleeping from 12 a.m. till 12 p.m. and I came from 2 classes at 12 p.m (after I woke up at 6 in the morning). Yeah…those were the moments I don’t want to remember. Every weekend I went home, where I couldn’t see their bitter faces. Now I stay with my brother until I finish college…it’s 100 times better.

    I like your pictures..they are so..representative =)) and funny…Hope that this week will pass very fast so that you could go home and have all the heat you want…you deserve that heat :D

    • Haha, thanks so much! Hey, at least you get to stay with family. That’s always a good thing. Whoa, four other roommates!! That’s crazy :O But, hopefully this week goes by quickly…cause yea, I need that warmth!!

      • Living with other girls is HORRIBLE. I swear! Girls are so mean and jealous, No wonder why I only have male friends. :)) Maybe your nightmare days will pass very fast and you will share an apartment with a friend. :-?

    • If only it would be quick…I’ll be stuck here for the rest of this year at least haha. But oh well, it could always be worse I guess :O

  2. Reading this has totally inspired me. We never seem to hear from the bad roommates only the good one. I think the world is ready to hear from them now.

  3. You disappeared. I’m sure you are enjoying your vacation.:D I’ve just passed by to ask how you’re doing.
    PS: Make a lot of pics.:D

    • Hey, thanks! Yea, I’ve just been on vacation for a few days…nothing too great to write about ya know! Basically every time I write it’s because I’m complaining haha but now that I’m home…there’s nothing to complain about :D But I will try :)

      • Haha..then thy not to complain, but to write about how wonderful life is at home :D. I saw you wrote a new post…I will read it now :D.

Trackbacks

What do you think?

